Being Single

He called it a break. My friends called it being single. They also called it “He’s an asshole.” I called it the thing that lives with me, has sex with me, but never kisses or says it loves me back.  The thing that ensured that I kept a bottle of wine on the rack for no more than a day. The thing made me lie, telling a dozen young men that I had plans each day they wanted to go to lunch for a year. The thing that made me stop eating, not because I wanted to but because nothing tasted good anymore. The thing that smelled like whiskey sometimes or had white powder in its nose. The thing that saw me as an object to be controlled, an animal on a leash. The thing that made me see myself that way. The thing I waited a year for and never kicked out.

11 Comments

Filed under lyric essay, Micro Fiction

11 responses to “Being Single

  1. lucky break – (plural lucky breaks) (idiomatic) A stroke of luck; a fortunate event..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, vision cleared, ambition inspired, and success achieved.” ~ Helen Keller

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thefeatheredsleep

    Love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, lovely 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • I shared this comment with a friend because it was cleaver, and we were thinking how fun it was. I’m guessing halfway for us would be a couple hundred miles? Thanks for the smiles 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • What is a couple of hundred miles between bloggers anyways 🙂 The knowledge that somewhere in this world someone thinks I’m clever has made my day. I would go to the moon and back to find the correct material to make you smile 🙂 Have a wonderful day Hayli! BTW, you may want to consider accepting the various male species offer for the free vittles. Nothing like a nice conversation, a warm inviting face, and free food! Peace 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Say something about this...

