Confessions of a Chronic Major-Changer

I am sitting on my couch with a beer and looking at my homework schedule and trying to figure out where I’m going to fit in MFA applications before the end of December.

I attend Northern Michigan University, which I will never regret choosing over UM or MSU, where I have met a number of wonderful and inspirational professors. So inspirational, in fact, that they have made me love their subjects so much that I’ve had 8 official majors in 3.5 years (Art, Pre-Med, Literature, Computer Science and Math, Education, Biology, Writing). Pathetically,Β all of them are half finished -.-

The problem is, I’ve only been a writing major (and I’ve only been writing) for a few months, and my ever-encouraging professor wants me to skip the MA in writing and shoot straight for the MFA. Yet, with the “30 pages of your best work in fiction, non-fiction, or poetry” requirement staring me in the face, I am shaking in my boots.

Game plan: Finish my fourth year and get my Writing/Biology degree. Then get my MFA and all the other degrees I want…

Words have mercy on my soul.

12 Comments

Filed under Announcements

12 responses to “Confessions of a Chronic Major-Changer

  1. You got this! I know so. Changing your major is OK! I have heard so many people say they wish they would just have followed their heart and done what they know they would have loved without being scared to experiment in majors. Be a go-getter !

    Like

  2. sometime you take a right turn and sometime life makes you take a right turn.
    just don’t make a hurry decision, rest is all what heart tells because its your willpower that drives you to the top of hill.
    I enjoyed visiting your block

    Like

  3. Personally, I advocate having a variety of experience. Being able to analyse and research is of much greater value than being a treasure trove of information on one particular topic. Of course, actually finishing some of your projects is also very important. Not only does it provide a sense of achievement, but at the end of the day we all need to make a living, so it is necessary to be able to provide a finished product or service.

    I wrote my first academic mini-thesis when I was 17. Of course, there are some major differences between writing fiction and non-fiction. But for the most part I have found that trying to plan to much means that I don’t actually do anything and (also confirmed by my debating experience) that it is much easier to make a piece longer than it is to cut it down.

    Although I normally advocate considering things carefully, perhaps the best thing you can do in this instance is to stop thinking and start doing. You may find that things just start falling into place by themselves.

    Good luck and feel free to pop into my side of the blogosphere sometime. I would love to see you there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just finished reading some of your blog articles, and you write great argumentative pieces πŸ™‚

      About your suggestions, I do have a pretty solid plan! I’ve got one year left of my writing and biology degrees, so I’m finishing them and still graduating in four years. I’m only worried about the MFA in writing because I’ve been writing creative pieces for such a short time. I’ve written multiple 20 and 30 page analytical and argumentative papers before, so the length isn’t the problem. Mostly, it’s that I work 20 hours and have 18 hours of class per week, for which I already have enough writing to do! (hehe) I already plan on finishing my other degrees, too, because they are so close to being done, and I just want all the degrees I can get. I love learning. Thanks for the advice!

      Hayli

      Like

  4. If writing is your passion, then go for it! Take chances now. This way you don’t grow old and complain about what might have been.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I know this; there’s something everyone says to do in situations like this, but, well, I hesitate to give out advice I cannot do myself – though you have shown considerable promise as a writer. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

Say something about this...

